The Gail Boyd de Stwolinski Prize for Lifetime Achievement in Music Theory Teaching and Scholarship

The Gail Boyd de Stwolinski Center for Music Theory Pedagogy highlights the best in research and practice in the field of theory pedagogy. The de Stwolinski Prize is endowed by the late Louis de Stwolinski, Gail's husband of 45 years. The prize is awarded to an outstanding music theory teacher, someone who has devoted a lifetime to music theory instruction and scholarship.

The selection process involves an open call for nominations. The winner is chosen by a revolving panel of distinguished music theory pedagogues who then make recommendations to the de Stwolinski Center Board of Directors.

Past winners of the award include:

  • John Bucchieri (2000)
  • Robert Gauldin (2002)
  • Dorothy Payne (2004)
  • Mary Wennerstrom (2006)
  • Mary Arlin (2010)
  • Elizabeth West Marvin (2012)

Criteria for recipients of the award include the following:

  • Successful music theory and/or aural skills teaching for at least 25 years
  • Significant scholarship and continued presence in the field of music theory pedagogy
  • Demonstrated impact on future generations of music theory instructors (mentorship, successful alumni, legacy in teaching approaches)